Pride: the Mother of all Sin.

Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.
Proverbs 16:18 ESV

I find it funny that this entire post is actually a result of my own pride. This whole week, I have been debating in my head about what I should continue to write on, until finally I realized, this isn’t my story, it is God’s story. I constantly have to ask myself, “Is my writing bringing glory to my Heavenly Father, or feeding my pride?” I make sure to set all my writings on here with that mission: to bring glory to my Lord in Heaven. I am nothing more than a growing Christian, who seeks God’s truth more and more each day, still, I will always be a sinner. Even in my short walk with the Lord, I have come to realize that accepting  your shortcomings is a huge part of reversing the sin that is pride, which in turn will become humility.

Pride is what started the Fall in the first place, right? Lucifer, God’s right hand man in Heaven, the arch angel of musical worship, took the liberty of trying to become just like God. What an idiot. Faster than he himself knew it, Lucifer’s pride took him over, the idea that it should be about him, and not about God. I truly pity this fallen angel’s poor logic. Quickly, Lucifer died, and Satan was born, the master deceiver upon which this Earth is haunted by to this day.

Let’s be real with ourselves for a moment. How many of our mistakes, failures, and regrets have come from our own prideful nature? How many times have we thought we shouldn’t fall in line with the standard because we were above the bar? How many times have we thought that we know more than everyone else, and that we are right, and the whole world is wrong? I, myself, am a victim of this poor thinking. If you can “be real” with yourself, then you will find that the answer to this question is in itself extremely humbling.

Let’s analyze some Scripture together:

Proverbs 29:23 
23 A man’s pride brings him low, but a man of lowly spirit gains honor.

This verse speaks volumes to me. Why? Because it as clear as night and day. Pride equals destruction, but humility brings mercy from the Lord.

1 Peter 5:5
5 Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”

Why do we, such young people, feel like we can go against our parents’ and elders’ commandments, wisdom, and guidance? Because we think we know everything, when in reality we are just seething in our pride and nobody is right but us. Our generation’s lack of obedience stems from the pride we carry in ourselves.

Obadiah 1:3
3 The pride of your heart has deceived you, you who live in the clefts of the rock, in your lofty dwelling, who say in your heart,” Who will bring me down to the ground?”

Pride will bring suffering if it goes unchecked, and in many cases, it really doesn’t. To me, the biggest ego check in my life was God. The pride in our hearts will lead us astray from the mission of being in stride with our Heavenly Father, it will only continue to feed our selfishness and greed, but with a humble attitude we will reap the grace and mercy of God, which was already given to us a long time ago with Jesus’ sacrifice.

So where am I going with this?  Well, it’s really quite simple: pride will ruin our walk with God. So many times, we create shortcuts for our actions that blame God for our own destruction. We tend to think,”If God is real, why would he let these terrible things happen to me?” “If God is so loving, why must we worship him or be sent to hell?” “If God is real, why won’t He show me He is?” These thoughts are a result of  our corrupted pride.

I am not saying it is bad to be proud of a science project you spent hours on and received an A+ for, or being proud of a promotion you got from your job, or being proud of your child’s achievements. Rather, it is where our pride goes and how fast it can corrupt our hearts if we do not recognize who gave us these talents and gifts. God did!

When you take something that isn’t yours and make it yours, that is stealing. In the same way, our unchecked pride steals the glory from God’s mighty hand. Do not let your pride steal the amazing gift of salvation that God gave us, the opportunity to grow with Him each day, the beautiful relationship that we can have with Him.

In Him,
Abraham

Isaiah 2:11
11 The eyes of the arrogant man will be humbled and the pride of men brought low;
the Lord alone will be exhalted in that day.

One thought on “Pride: the Mother of all Sin.

  1. amparo yabar says:

    Esta lindo hijito. Se lo paso a mis hermanos que leen Ingles. Love you
    MOM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

