“Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.”

Matthew 5:7
7 “Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.”

I took a whole month off to really re-calibrate my focus on the good Lord, to really find a way to speak to those whose faith is either empty, or just not there at all. As I said before, this blog has nothing to do with me, and everything to do with Christ, whose love is more than enough to save us all from ourselves. That being said, this entry is going to deal with the mercy that God has shown us and handed down to us through his son, Christ Jesus.

All throughout the Word, the mercy God has handed us overflows graciously. God’s biggest example of His abundant mercy came in the form of our one true Savior, Jesus Christ. He gave us his only Son to show us “the way,  and the truth, and the life” (John 14:6). Other examples can be found when he spared Noah and his family from the flood that rewrote humanity’s existence, the mercy God showed upon Abraham and Sarah when he blessed them with their first son, Isaac, and the mercy He handed the Jewish people when he delivered them from Egyptian slavery. These are some of the biggest stories that center around God’s mercy, and there are many, many more to be found in the Word. In the midst of our biggest mistakes, God’s heart is built upon his everlasting mercy and grace, which all leads back to his overflowing love for humanity.

I struggle in showing mercy to others. To be completely honest, I can be so quick to receive God’s mercy without thinking to share it with others. This isn’t because I am bad person, but simply because I am a sinner who just doesn’t know any better. If I don’t take the time to realize that God’s mercy is in the Holy Spirit, that is in me, then I can easily begin to focus on me, and not God, or extending my hand to others.

Mercy is extremely important in our walk with God because when you realize God didn’t have to save us, he chose to save us, you will realize what a beautiful gift salvation is. Jesus didn’t have to die on the Cross for our sins, at any second he could have literally been like,”Yeah, I think I am going to just go home now,” and a beaming light from Heaven could have lifted him to Heaven. But he chose the Cross for us. Jesus Christ so loved us that even in his last moments dying on the Cross, he cried out and screamed, “Father, forgive them for they know now what they do.”

I bring this example up to point out how easily we crucify others for their lives’, their beliefs, their actions without taking a second to think of the mercy God has so graciously rewarded us, despite all of our sins and transgressions.  How many times do we speak before thinking of how our words can affect others feelings? How consistently do we rebel against our Creator to selfishly live out our needs before His will? When was the last time you thanked God for His mercy that has saved us from an eternity of suffering?

This idea of mercy has weighed heavily on my heart over the last month. I have realized that without knowing what mercy truly means in the eyes of God, I can not live a life of surrender to Christ, and more importantly, I will get in the way of my relationship with my Lord in Heaven. I pray that we all just open our eyes and truly let God work in our hearts, so that we can work for God’s kingdom by spreading the mercy He has shown us.

In Him,
Abraham

Ephesians 2:4,5
4 But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us,
5 even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ . . .

Leave a Reply

